Skip to content

Restaurant Review | Fresh eats at Grove – Grand Rapids, Mich.

In the East Hills neighborhood of Grand Rapids, Mich., is a stretch of local eateries along Cherry Street. It’s an area of my home city that I’ve started exploring recently.

While sipping a Perrin Grapefruit IPA — my favorite summertime beer and a local Grand Rapids area brew — and eating vegetarian Pad Thai on the outdoor patio at The Green Well in late May, I noticed a restaurant with a full front patio of late evening diners across the street. I thought, “That’s a place I’ll need to check out.”

GroveSangria

Sangria at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

On Tuesday evening, I did.

My friend Kristen and I met for a delicious dinner full of intriguing flavors at Grove.

We began our meal with a round of a robustly flavored sangria. With a diverse drink list of signature cocktails, quality wines, and Michigan craft beers, it wasn’t an easy decision, but I was extremely pleased with my beverage selection.

“Earth to table dining” is the concept, and, throughout our meal, the vegetables were so crisp, fresh and flavorful.

Diners at Grove are given two options: order three courses of smaller portions for a prix-fixe price of $35 or order a la carte. Kristen and I figured the prix-fixe option would be a sweet deal for diners interested in the pricier entrees. It would also be a great option if you have a taste for several dishes on the menu.

Otherwise, I’d recommend ordering two first- and second-course options or splitting a snack among the table and ordering an entree from the third-course menu. Also, you’ll want to save room for dessert!

Kristen and I opted for ordering a la carte and began our meals with lighter fare — hush puppies for her and a corn bisque garnished with yellow cherry tomatoes, olive salt and mint leaves for me.

Corn Bisque at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

Corn Bisque at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The corn soup tasted unexpectedly sweet. I felt like I was being a naughty child, eating my dessert before my main course!

For our entrees, Kristen and I both ordered the asparagus-herb-and-goat-cheese ravioli dish.

Asparagus and herb-goat-cheese ravioli at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

Asparagus and herb-goat-cheese ravioli at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The goat cheese filling was incredibly creamy, while the snap peas, asparagus, green beans, and turnips had a crispness you’d expect from the vegetables you picked out of your own backyard garden. I’d recommend this dish and order it again myself, if it’s on the menu again.

The menu changes daily, as is the case at most farm-to-table restaurants since the offerings depend on the locally sourced ingredients.

To top off our scrumptious meal, we split goat-cheese-stuffed doughnuts served with a honey granola and caramelized peach slices. It was delectable.

Doughnuts for dessert at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

Doughnuts for dessert at Grove in Grand Rapids, Mich. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The restaurant is dedicated to sustainable dining, which was evident as we used tablet menus instead of paper menus. So green!

Know before you go …

Grove

Location: 919 Cherry Street SE, Grand Rapids, Mich.

Menu: American cuisine, farm-to-table concept, vegetarian and vegan friendly

Drink List: Signature cocktails, Michigan craft beer, wines available by glass or bottle

Prices: About $5 for snacks such as hush puppies; about $7-15 for first- and second-course dishes including soups, salads and pastas; about $22-28 for seafood and meat third-course entrees; $5 desserts

Parking: Street parking along Cherry Street and the side streets

Reservations: Call 616-454-1000 or book on OpenTable

Grove on Urbanspoon

Wish you were here,

Erin

 

Leave a Reply

