Skip to content

Eating my way around Billings, Montana

Breweries abound in Billings, Mont., but I also spent my long weekend in Big Sky Country eating at a happenin’ lunchtime burger joint and a breakfast hot spot with massive pancakes.

While I accomplished much more than eating during this trip — unlike the following trip when I ate in a New York state of mind — the eateries and watering holes I visited in Billings are certainly worth noting for future visitors.

Day 1: Who can pass up cheddar ale soup?

My first night in Billings I had plans to attend a Billings Mustangs baseball game. Until then, I was left to my own devices to find entertainment and sustenance. I knew breweries were big in Montana, and upon arriving in Billings was quickly informed of the limited hours that some tasting rooms were open. Due to Montana law, tasting rooms that don’t serve food can only operate between 4 and 8 p.m. Without haste, I set out to visit my first brewery.

Uberbrew, about which I earlier blogged, was my first foodie destination for I sought cheddar ale soup. Yes, on an 80-something degree Fahrenheit August day, I was in search of a hot and hearty cheese soup. Indeed it was on the brewpub’s menu, and it was absolutely delicious. Uberbrew’s cheddar ale is made with its Golden Ticket ale, cheddar cheese, bacon and green onion.

Cheddar ale soup with a distinct beer flavor is not to be passed up!

Cheddar ale soup with a distinct beer flavor is not to be passed up!

I also ordered the spinach salad with candied almonds and Craisins in a strawberry vinaigrette. It was light and fresh — a perfect accompaniment to the filling soup and Razz Hands, a raspberry-infused Kolsch. A variety of salads, half-pound burgers, sausages and sandwiches were also featured on Uberbrew’s menu.

Spinach salad with a strawberry vinaigrette paired nicely with the Razz Hands and later a mango iced tea.

Spinach salad with a strawberry vinaigrette paired nicely with the Razz Hands and later a mango iced tea.

Uberbrew on Urbanspoon

Day 2: Burgers or bust!

Open only from 10:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. on weekdays, The Burger Dive is a known lunchtime haunt. The downtown Billings burger joint is the place to go in town for a burger, fries and a shake. A fan of the All-American classic cheeseburger, I was quite pleased with my order of a $6 cheeseburger topped with lettuce, tomato, onion and mayo and “San Fran” garlic fries. While the burger was tasty, the fries were like none other.

Cheeseburger and "San Fran Fries" at The Burger Dive in Billings, Mont.

Cheeseburger and “San Fran Fries” at The Burger Dive in Billings, Mont.

The Burger Dive on Urbanspoon

Day 3: Holy pancakes!

I’m not big on pancakes. As far as breakfast food goes, I’d much rather have a bagel, omelet or Belgian waffle topped with strawberries and whipped cream, if I’m going for dessert-as-breakfast. But, when someone says, “You have to try the pancakes,” you HAVE TO try the pancakes. So, I did. And, I was mortifyingly shocked at the size of the three dinner-plate-sized, fluffy,  blueberry, buttermilk pancakes that our waitress placed before me at Stella’s Kitchen & Bakery.

Simply massive blueberry, buttermilk pancakes at Stella's Kitchen & Bakery in Billings, Mont.

Simply massive blueberry, buttermilk pancakes at Stella’s Kitchen & Bakery in Billings, Mont.

Needless to say, I barely made a dent in my breakfast. But, there was plenty left over for breakfast the next morning!

Wish you were here,

Erin

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Carole #

    All three look great! Thanks for the post! We’ll be there soon!

    July 13, 2016

Leave a Reply

