Skip to content

What do I pack for Fourth of July and a wedding in Michigan?

Packing is one of my least favorite aspects of traveling — second to unpacking, that is.

Tonight my task is packing for a long weekend in Michigan that will include a Fourth of July barbecue, a steakhouse dinner to celebrate my sister’s birthday, my cousin’s wedding and catching up with family and old friends. With my sister also in town from New York City, it could become a whirlwind of a weekend. I’ll need a variety of outfits because I’m not quite sure how the itinerary may change as the weekend unfolds.

While staring at my jam-packed walk-in closet tonight, I realized dresses would be the easiest to pack and re-accessorize into a second outfit, if necessary.

For the Fourth of July, I planned a patriotic outfit. This was easy enough to do — looking at my summer wardrobe, you’d think I go boating ALL the time. Oh, how I wish that were true. But no, I just live on the East Coast, so it’s all navy-stripes, anchor-adorned jewelry and boat shoes. So, on Thursday, I’ll wear a navy-blue knit Gap dress paired with brown leather Ralph Lauren sandals, a navy-striped ivory Gap cardigan adorned with gold buttons, a gold chain necklace woven with navy-blue leather, gold earrings and a red, white and blue bangle. In case I want to change later in the day, I also packed navy-blue skinnies and a white-with-navy-stripes T-shirt. Either way, I’ll be a walking Gap ad, and I can wear the same jewelry and sandals with both outfits.

On Friday I’ll be dining at one of the Detroit area’s nicest steakhouses. Again, a dress seemed most appropriate. Since I may be shopping at Somerset earlier that day and going for drinks after dinner, I wanted to pack one outfit that could go day to night to late night. A maxi with sandals has a summertime ease and can easily be accessorized to go from casual to dressy. It’s also made from a sheer material, so it won’t be wrinkled by the time I land at Detroit Metro airport.

Since I’m flying Southwest, I can check up to two bags for no extra fee. I’ll check one piece of luggage, and I’ll have a large purse to carry my electronics, some reading material and my wallet. When packing dresses for a wedding, it’s nice to not cram them into a carry-on luggage — especially when you can’t decide which dress to wear so you pack both options. I have two little black dresses, nude peep-toe pumps and nude-and-black wedges, a quilted black leather Michael Kors clutch and a variety of gold jewelry. Sometimes a girl needs options. And why not when you have the luggage space? Thank you, Southwest Airlines.

Have a suggestion for which dress I should wear to the wedding? Let me know in the comments below!

Wish you were here,

Erin

P.S. If you are traveling for the Fourth of July, safe and happy travels!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I very much enjoyed this; as for what to wear to the wedding I vote for the black dress but I am partial to black ;)

    July 3, 2013
    • After rereading without distraction; I see there were two black dresses for the wedding and the maxi was for Friday so to actually give a proper vote I choose the black dress with the V neck line.

      July 3, 2013
      • Thanks for your vote! The v-neck was my original choice. Then I remembered I had the other LBD, too.

        July 3, 2013
  2. Love the patriotic bangle!

    July 3, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Trip review: July 4 weekend at ‘home’ in Michigan | Where Erin Goes ...

Leave a Reply

