Skip to content

Photo Friday: Berlin Zoo Tiger

After visiting the National Zoo in Washington, D.C., on Sunday, I was thinking about how most animals have napped through my zoo visits over the years. The one exception was the Berlin Zoological Garden.

I visited Germany’s oldest zoo, located in Berlin’s Tiergarten, on a May morning in 2006, and all of the animals seemed active and closer in proximity than at any American zoo I had visited. You can read more about my thoughts about the zoo on Qype.

In particular, one tiger I photographed was particularly interesting to me. Growing up in metro Detroit, my family often visited the Detroit Zoo, and I always looked forward to the tigers. The problem was those tigers are located at the back of the park, so by the time my family followed the elephant foot prints back to the big cats, they were enjoying an afternoon snooze in the shade. This tiger was definitely not asleep.

Tiger at the Berlin Zoo. May 2006.

Tiger at the Berlin Zoo. May 2006.

On this day in Berlin, we went to the zoo first thing in the morning and we were there for this tiger’s feeding time. After taking several pictures, I’m fairly certain this tiger wanted me to be …

Tiger lunch

Tiger lunch

Thank goodness for that cage.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. That middle picture of the tiger is awesome! Great photography.

    June 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

