Skip to content

Away we go!

Welcome, friends, to my travel blog!

A little about me

Here I am at the Tidal Basin when the cherry blossoms bloomed in March 2012. (Photo by Amanda Lewis.)

I’m a journalist by day, novice foodie by night and tourist by weekend in the Washington, D.C., area. I grew up in the lovely Pure Michigan and relocated to the East Coast in 2010. Since then, I’ve been a tourist in my own town, exploring all that the D.C. area has to offer — museums, monuments, art, music, happy hours, brunches and more.

I was bit by the travel bug at a young age. My family took annual summer vacations, like most Michigan families, to the beach towns in Northern Michigan. But, I always had that itch to see something beyond Lake Michigan and Disney World. So, at age 14, I made my first voyage overseas. In 21 days, I traveled through six Western European countries. I tried to distract the guards at the Tower of London and hoped for a glimpse of royalty at Buckingham’s Changing of the Guard. I climbed to the top of numerous cathedrals and the Eiffel Tower. I boated along the Seine and the Amsterdam canals. I ate mussels in Brussels and croissants in Paris. I went up my first mountain (in the Swiss Alps, no less) and even fell into a lake in Switzerland. I knew then, just as I know now, that through travel we learn just as much about ourselves as we do about far-off places, foreign languages and exotic cultures.

Travel remains a vital part of my life. Living just outside the nation’s capital has given me numerous opportunities to explore the Eastern Seaboard. I’ve been north to New York and south to North Carolina. And, as I and my friends move farther away from one another, travel has become a way to reunite with the ones I love. As you follow this blog, you’ll see me catching cabs in New York City with my sister, visiting art fairs in Michigan with my mom, and doing pretty much everything else with my best friend and partner-in-crime, Amanda.

My hopes for this blog

As I continue to eat, drink and sightsee my way through Washington and beyond, I hope you will join me here. I plan to share my insider knowledge of my favorite local haunts and the treasures I find as I venture to new restaurants, new cities and someday (when my budget allows for it) new countries.

All opinions, advice and photos will be my own unless otherwise noted, and if I ever make it big enough as a travel writer to get a meal or hotel room comped, I’ll be sure to make that clear in my post.

Through my adventures near and far, I hope you will find ideas for your own travels and will be inspired to both expand your horizons and to cherish and visit all that your home locale offers.

Follow me on the go

While I am out and about, I’ll be sharing my adventures through social media. You’ll find me on Twitter tweeting about where I am and what I am seeing, doing and tasting. You may also follow me on Instagram, where I often share pictures of my plate. Also, I often use Pinterest to plan trips, so follow my boards and get to planning your own!

Wish you were here,

Erin

One Comment Post a comment
  1. gina gary #

    Great idea!!! I know it will be funfilled and informative!

    May 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

