Skip to content

Restaurant Review | bd’s Mongolian Grill – Dearborn, Mich.

bd's Mongolian Grill - Dearborn, Mich.

While in my hometown of Dearborn, Mich., last week, I revisited a chain eatery where I hadn’t dined for years — bd’s Mongolian Grill.  I was pleased to find tasty new appetizers and desserts on the Asian restaurant’s menu. And, creating my own meal, selecting the perfect concoction of flavorful sauces and spices, and watching it grill was as fun as I remembered it.

New appetizers feature Asian-restaurant favorites and a Latin twist at bd’s Mongolian Grill.

My mom and I began our lunch by ordering two of the restaurant’s new appetizers: crab ragoons and the plum crazy queso dip.

The Plum Crazy Queso Dip appetizer comes with crispy chips. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The Plum Crazy Queso Dip appetizer comes with crispy chips. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The plum crazy queso dip puts an Asian twist on the classic queso. A hint of sweetness came through with each bite, reminding me this was no ordinary cheese-and-chips appetizer. No, this queso was laced with plum sauce — an odd sounding combination, but it surprisingly works.

Honestly, even more so than the queso — and I’m a HUGE cheese fiend — I was digging the crispy tortilla chips. The chips were slightly seasoned and much thicker than your average corn tortilla chip. I’m clearly a fan.

Despite my intrigue after tasting the sweet Asian-inspired queso, I’m still left sitting on the fence about this particular appetizer. I’m not sure I’d order this appetizer again, but it was interesting to try. But, I will say that I took the leftovers home and it reheated well (microwaved on a low setting) for a late-night snack.

The crab ragoons are fried wontons stuffed with seafood and cream cheese. They are served with a delicious sweet chili sauce. Yum! (Photo by Erin Klema)

The crab ragoons are fried wontons stuffed with seafood and cream cheese. They are served with a delicious sweet chili sauce. Yum! (Photo by Erin Klema)

Asian-Latin fusion is trendy in the culinary scene right now, so I do respect bd’s Mongolian Grill for trying something new. But, certainly an Asian-themed restaurant could find other quick-fire appetizers with flavor profiles that would pair well with the existing menu. Spring rolls would be my suggestion.

Now, the crab ragoons, which you’ll find on menus at plenty of Asian eateries (especially those hole-in-the-wall, cash-only Chinese restaurants), were absolutely yummy. What’s not to love? It’s crab. It’s cream cheese. It’s a wonton. And, it’s all fried.

Hey, I didn’t say it was healthy. Just yummy.

Plus the ragoons are paired with a sweet chili sauce for a little pop of flavor.

At bd’s Mongolian Grill, you create your stir-fry to suit your taste.

When you “Go Mongo,” the concept is to take your empty bowl and fill it with proteins, noodles and vegetables for a stir-fry made your way. Don’t forget to select a sauce — or mix of sauces — and a sprinkle of some spices or nuts, too!

My stir-fry at bd's Mongolian Grill was heavy on the veggies. (Photo by Erin Klema)

My stir-fry at bd’s Mongolian Grill was heavy on the veggies. (Photo by Erin Klema)

I remember dining at Mongo in my high school days, when one of my BFFs worked as a hostess. It was so much fun to get a group of friends together, daring each other to try calamari or a spicy sauce in our customized concoctions.

The veggie bar is full of healthy options, making Mongo a great place for vegetarians and eaters with other dietary concerns. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The veggie bar is full of healthy options, making Mongo a great place for vegetarians and eaters with other dietary concerns. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The concept is great for picky eaters, which I was back then. I could easily avoid the foods I didn’t enjoy.

Conversely, the create-your-own concept works really well for the adventurous eater, too. Try a sauce or a spice you’ve never cooked with before!

If you plan to create your stir-fry with reckless abandon, I applaud you. I also suggest you prepare yourself for ordering the unlimited bowls option.

As a veggie lover who goes through spurts of vegetarianism, I filled my bowl with all kinds of veggies and healthy, vegan foods — julienned carrots, baby corn, red potatoes, mushrooms, soy beans and tomatoes. Then, I remembered the noodles, so I went back to the proteins bar, added a few and a couple small pieces of Krab. In a separate small cup, I ladled some Thai peanut sauce and a dash of chopped nuts, and then I made my way to the grill, where I watched my food sizzle.

I added my Thai-peanut flavored stir-fry and a scoop of brown rice to a tortilla. (Photo by Erin Klema)

I added my Thai-peanut flavored stir-fry and a scoop of brown rice to a tortilla. (Photo by Erin Klema)

My mom and I shared brown rice and tortillas with our stir-fry bowls, but you could opt for white rice, lettuce wraps or a flavored fried rice. The options even extend to how you choose to eat your personalized meal!

New bistro cakes are the perfect amount of indulgence.

At the end of a delicious lunch, my mom and I were too full for a decadent dessert like the monstrous brownie topped with piles of vanilla ice cream. Instead we wanted a few bites of something sweet and creamy, and the new bistro cakes were a perfect fit. There are four options: peanut butter, key lime, tiramisu and chocolate.

Bistro cakes are new and adorable desserts at bd's Mongolian Grill. (Photo by Erin Klema)

Bistro cakes are new and adorable desserts at bd’s Mongolian Grill. (Photo by Erin Klema)

The key lime cake has a whipped texture and a delightfully fruity flavor. The peanut butter cake is creamy, rich and like eating a Reese’s peanut butter cup. And, they only cost $2.75 apiece!

Know before you go …

Location: 22115 Michigan Ave, Dearborn, MI 48124 and other locations

Menu: Create-your-own-stir-fry using meats, veggies, sauces and spices; soup and salad bar; Asian-inspired appetizers; desserts

Prices: Appetizers under $8; fried rice starting at $3.99; $8.99 for one bowl or $11.99 for unlimited bowls during lunch; $12.99 for one bowl or $15.99 for unlimited bowls during dinner; desserts starting at $2.75

Promotions: Through June 30, 2014, diners can earn stamps on a rewards card for trying different menu items. After four stamps, you get 15 percent off your meal. After seven stamps, you get a free appetizer or dessert. Ask your server about this limited-time deal!

Parking: Limited parking spaces in lot shared with strip mall, nearby parking garages and metered parking lot off of West Village Drive

BD's Mongolian Grill on Urbanspoon

Wish you were here,

Erin

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Many thanks to bd’s Mongolian Grill for the invitation to try the new menu items. As always, all opinions are my own.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Enjoyed the experience. Looking forward to eating there again sooner. Love the pics, nicely done.

    June 24, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 521 other followers

