Skip to content

Where Erin went in 2013

2013Farewell

It’s New Year’s Eve, and, like many of you, I’m headed to a party tonight. But before I head out to toast the new year, I wanted to share a brief recap of my year of travel.

I made it to four states I had never visited until this year — other than driving through a couple to get somewhere else. Those states are Montana, Wyoming, Pennsylvania and Kentucky.

I revisited a few favorite vacation destinations: North Carolina’s Outer Banks, New York City and my home state, Michigan.

I also moved from Alexandria, a northern Virginia suburb of Washington, D.C., to Grand Rapids, Mich. I can’t wait to share more about my new locale with you in 2014.

Until then, here’s a recap of my favorite 2013 travel memories …

Best of the brunches

Cuba Libre brunch in Washington, D.C.

Cuba Libre brunch in Washington, D.C.

Best Brunch Spots: 1. Cuba Libre – Washington, D.C. / 2. Mason’s – Easton, Md. / 3. Stone Street Tavern – New York City

Best of the happy hours

Sangria during Happy Hour at Local 16 in Washington, D.C.

Sangria during Happy Hour at Local 16 in Washington, D.C.

Hot happy hour spots: 1. Peppino’s Sports Grille – Grand Rapids, Mich. / 2. Rockwell-Republic – Grand Rapids, Mich. / 3. Local 16 – Washington, D.C.

Best of the museums, public gardens, parks and zoos

One last photo of Yellowstone National Park on my way out of the park.

One last photo of Yellowstone National Park on my way out of the park.

Most amusing attractions:  1. The Elizabethan Gardens – Manteo, N.C. / 2. Yellowstone National Park – Montana/Wyoming / 3. Kentucky Horse Park – Lexington, Ky.

Best of sporting events

The Big House - Ann Arbor, Mich.

The Big House – Ann Arbor, Mich.

Spectacular sports: 1. Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park – Detroit, Mich. / 2. Michigan football at The Big House – Ann Arbor, Mich. / 3. Washington Nationals at Nationals Park – Washington, D.C.

Best of the concerts

Maroon 5 concert in April 2013 at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C.

Maroon 5 concert in April 2013 at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C.

Most musical moments: 1. The Package Tour with NKOTB, 98 Degrees and Boys II Men – Verizon Center, Washington, D.C. / 2. Maroon 5 with Owl City and Neon Trees – Verizon Center, Washington, D.C. / 3. Maroon 5 and Kelly Clarkson – Jiffy Lube Live, Bristow, Va.

(OK. I may have a thing for Adam Levine. Can you blame me?)

I wish you all a very happy new year and hope to share so much more with you in 2014!

Wish you were here,

Erin

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cool pics! I especially like that middle one of Pittsburgh!

    January 1, 2014
  2. Love the recap! Looking forward to more fantastic posts in 2014.

    January 4, 2014
  3. such a great year, Erin!

    January 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers

