Skip to content

Photo Friday: Christmas in New York

Christmas in NYC

I watched “Miracle on 34th Street” as a kid, and ever since I’ve wanted to spend Christmas in New York.

I got my wish two years ago when my and my sister’s work schedules prevented us from flying home to Michigan for the holiday. Instead, our parents’ shipped us our gifts and I took the train from Washington, D.C., to New York’s Penn Station for a little sister-sister bonding.

While my sister worked on Christmas Eve, I met up with one of my former interns and her family for lunch at Delicatessen and a little Soho shopping. If you go to Delicatessen, order mac & cheese of some sort. You won’t regret it.

Then I took the Subway uptown, hoping to see a glimpse of the Rockefeller tree in all its glory. Christmas Eve was probably not the best evening to try to do this. It was a complete zoo. Somehow I managed to find my sister among the sea of last-minute holiday shoppers and tourists along Fifth Avenue, but I never did get to see the tree.

But, I did capture a few photos by Radio City Music Hall, where the Rockettes perform their annual high-kicking Christmas spectacular.

Christmas Eve 2011 in NYC

Christmas Eve 2011 in NYC

Christmas Eve 2011 in NYC

Christmas Eve 2011 in NYC

Wish you were here,

Erin

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Sounds like a return visit may be in the your future…a most see is the Rockefeller tree and the window displays at Macys, Barneys and a few other stores…plus shopping!

    January 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers

